How to Make Your Lips POP this Summer

Hi friends! Hope you are all well.  I have been a bit busy finishing up decorating my apartment these past couple of weeks, in addition to spending some much needed quality time with my friends and boyfriend.  It has been good, and relaxing.

Since the first day of summer was a few days ago, I have been trying to find some ways to change up my look for the summer, especially in this intense Texas heat.  It is almost unbearable this year.  It is so hard some days to do my hair or even my makeup because of the weather.  I feel like if I stand outside for more than a couple of minutes, my makeup just sweats right off.  And I know I’m not the only one with this problem, am I right ladies?

Last week, my friend Kayla of Running With Colors let me try LipSense, a unique lip color kit, that she sells to help with my makeup dilemma, in exchange for my honest opinion on her product.  And let me tell you guys, this stuff is gold. I love it.

JPEG image-6D401B810232-2
I loved working with Running With Colors; Kayla has some amazing products!

If you don’t know, LipSense is a smudge-proof, water-proof, kiss-proof, anything-proof lip color that stays on.  It is considered the original long wear lip color.  There are over 30 shades, perfect for any skin tone and any season.  The starter lip kits come with a lip color, a gloss and an “Oops!” remover. In addition to the 30+ shades, the top gloss comes in multiple finishes for a flawless look for any function.

JPEG image-6D401B810232-8
Here is the LipSense color Kayla sent me, along with her business card.
JPEG image-6D401B810232-11
Mess up on applying your lip color? Don’t worry, LipSense has got you covered.

Through Facebook and Instagram, I had seen a few friends that tried LipSense, but was always a little confused.  I was always a bit confused why they rubbed their hands over their mouth when posting videos or pictures about the products; but now I know.  It is to show how durable and awesome this lip color is.

I fell in love with the neutral pink color Kayla picked for me, Apple Cider. The best partJPEG image-6D401B810232-9 about this color was that it didn’t leave a lip print on my Starbucks cup, it didn’t show any marks on my straw at lunch, and it didn’t leave any stain on the napkin I used to wipe my mouth off with at dinner.  At the end of the day, my lips looked just as fabulous as they did when I left my apartment this morning.  Did I mention these colors don’t come off all day long?

•••

How to apply:

I woke up this morning and was excited for bright lips clllll day long.  (Spoiler alert: I wasn’t disappointed).  Kayla sent me a video to show me how to apply the color and gloss.  It is a whole process, but its so worth it.

First, you must make sure to start with exfoliated lips.  I use an exfoliating face wash, so last night, I exfoliated my whole face (lips included this time) to prep for application.  Then, you apply the color one layer at a time, allowing a period for the color to dry in between coats.  After applying three layers, I let it set for 30 seconds and finished my look with the gloss.

The Oops Remover was great for removing some color I had accidentally applied below my lip line.  I applied it to the area it was on and used a Q-tip to wipe it clean.

I am not going to lie, the color made my lips feel a bit tingly.  Was it the chemicals in it or were my lips excited to pop all day?  Since the lip color also dries your lips out a bit, the gloss puts moisture back into your skin.

IMG_0910
On my way out the door, just after applying LipSense!

__________________________

Midday check-up:

My lips were still looking great by noonish. I was really enjoying being able to put some color on my lips at the beginning of the day and it still look great even by lunch.  I reapplied some gloss after eating and went about my day.

 

IMG_0909
After reapplying some gloss to keep my lips hydrated!

 

__________________________

The end of the night:

By the end of the night, my lips still had color on them. I had put some Burt’s Bees on my lips around dinnertime to keep them moisturized and the color still looked great.

IMG_0914
Enjoying a drink at dinner, LipSense still looking good!

 

__________________________

The final verdict:

I am not going to lie, I love this product! I know that LipSense will join my daily make-up routine. The color Kayla picked for me was also perfect; I always seem to pick colors that are too subtle and neutral. But this color was perfect for transitioning my make up look from day to night. I am a huge fan.

•••

Interested in LipSense? Check out the Running With Colors Facebook page. Get to know my friend Kayla and see how awesome she is by checking out her blog here.  (She’s seriously a total boss!)

Have you tried LipSense yet? Let me know what your thoughts are! 

Leave a Reply

