LIFE UPDATE: May

Hi there! Yes, I am alive. Yes, I know I haven’t posted lately.  I know, I’m sorry. You are probably wondering why I haven’t been posting hardly at all these last couple of weeks, right?

The reason I haven’t been writing as much is because things have been so crazy.  The month is almost over, but so much has happened. May has been full of changes for me; its been a bit of a wild ride.

IMG_0406
#grad

First, as you probably know, I graduated from Baylor! It was incredibly exciting and equally as terrifying at the same time.  But I am loving post-grad life already.  Walking across that stage was an amazing feeling. No more school… ever! Well, unless I go back for my masters-which is a big possibility.  I got to celebrate with my friends and family afterwards, and even was able to move back home that same day!

Which means that I am also living in the Dallas area again! The day after my finals were over, my mom came down and moved all of my stuff back home. And then after I graduated, I drove myself back to my parent’s house.  For the next week, I am staying at their place and then moving into my new apartment on June 1.  I am so ready to move out; living at home is great but I am ready to be in the city with my own apartment (#adulting).

In addition to all of this, I started my new job last Monday.  Two days after I graduated, I reported to my first day in the office.  I am loving it already! Some days I spend the majority of my time at a desk and other days, I spend it out in the field.  It is really fun because I get to meet a lot of interesting people and make so many connections. I am also joining in on business happy hours and promoting the company through business networking events.  Watching and helping a company grow is awesome. Right now, I am working on a marketing plan for the remainder of the year; but soon I am going to learn all aspects of the company.  I am really looking forward to my future with this business.

Lets be real: Although working is fun, I’m not going to lie, it is a bit exhausting.  Getting up before 7 and working until 5 or 6 and then having to drive home and cook?  Some days it really isn’t super fun.  I see why people just want to watch TV in the evenings; its easier than going out and running or being active. I know that when my coffee wears off, all I want to do is take a nice long nap.  But, it is possible to stay motivated enough to stay active. One of my goals is to run a 5K this summer.  I know its not a lot, but it keeps me motivated to keep taking that extra step and getting out there and running.

I am so excited to be living in the 214 again.  Once I get settled in my apartment, I will post pictures of some DIY decorating projects I’ve been working on.  In the meantime, where are some fun places to hang out in the Highland Park area? Let me know in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

