Saying Goodbye to Baylor

*~Sappy post alert!~*

A couple of weeks ago, after I finishing finals, I spent a lot of my time saying goodbye to the university that has been my home for the past four years.  It has been the place I spent many days on, rain or shine (and the occasional snow). Its where I made countless memories and pulled one too-many all nighters. It has been a place where I learned about my passions and connected with those friends that became like family.  Its where I grew most.

It feels like just yesterday that my parents helped move me in to North Russell Dormitory (pre-renovation-it was rough) and waved goodbye as I sat on the steps. At the time, I didn’t really want to be at Baylor; I mean I had a great life in McKinney, why would I want to change that? Plus Waco was kind of boring,  I mean there was a tiny little mall and no Whole Foods-how was I expected to enjoy college without the big city I was so accustomed to?

My how these four years have changed me.  Looking back, I’m starting to see why things turned out the way they had. If I had stayed inside my comfort zone back at home, I would not be the same person.  I wouldn’t have found such a great sisterhood.  I wouldn’t have found my love for traveling.  Or running.  Or even blogging.  I wouldn’t have discovered my love for public relations and marketing. I wouldn’t have grown like I did. I am thankful for parents that made me step out of my comfort zone. I am thankful for a support system that pushed me to do better and be better than I was.  I am thankful for the confidence to be stronger than I was when I started going to Baylor.

I learned so much more about this university than what the media says.  Although this school has made some mistakes, we all have, Baylor University is an amazing institution that deserves to be recognized for the amazing things they do. This school has definitely taught me a lot about myself and the world around me.

That week was a little emotional, but I am glad I had the opportunity to attend such a wonderful school. Walking out of the communications building for the last time was a little scary, I’m not going to lie.  Am I ready? Will I be successful? The future isn’t exactly predictable, so I constantly wonder what will be in store for me.

I have had so many memories there and lots of other places on campus.  There are some spots that I know I’ll always come back to visit when I pass through Waco. Here are a few of my favorites:

Founders Mall/Pat Neff: 

The picture on the left was taken just after starting at Baylor and the one on the right was taken during my senior photos.  4 years apart. 

IMG_3318
Exploring campus on a foggy night during my sophomore year.
IMG_7115
Took Lilly on a walk when I came to pack up my house during the summer.
DSC_0194
Pat Neff for my photography final.
img_7125
Me and Lilly on campus last summer.

Fountain Mall: 

IMG_6668
Enjoying the on campus events during Dia last year.
DSC_0423
Took some photos of the new fountain on Fountain Mall during my junior year.
IMG_8308
Last Homecoming Bonfire as an undergrad with Drew!

McLane Stadium/Tailgating: 

I made so many memories here, it was hard to choose just a couple. 

Bear Trail:

IMG_9796
Took this on my favorite running trail around campus.
One thought on “Saying Goodbye to Baylor

Leave a Reply

