Arizona Weekend!

You might be wondering what I’ve been up to lately… I know, I know, I have been slacking about posting.  Sorry about that, sometimes life gets in the way-and all of your projects are due in the same week.  BUT here I am!

Last weekend, Drew and I flew out to Arizona for my Big’s (aka my sorority sister’s) wedding.  While we were only there for three days, we made the most of our time there.  We flew in early Friday morning and decided to take on the open road.  We ventured up to Flagstaff, AZ and then drove to the Grand Canyon.

IMG_9627
The mountain we saw while driving into Flagstaff; it still had snow on it!

We tried a local burger joint while we stopped in Flagstaff.  I definitely recommend Diablo Burger if you are ever in the area… they had so many options, and AMAZING fries.  From there, we started on the second leg of the trip up to the Grand Canyon.

Y’all, I have to say that Arizona is beautiful.  One of my favorite parts is that in the northern region of the state, it still gets hot in the summer, but also snowy in the winter.  Being a Texas native, I am still intrigued by the colder season-and the snow.  I couldn’t believe that they got so much snow up there.  I fell in love with Flagstaff because its a great ski-town in the winter, but is still warm in the spring and summer.  I’m obsessed.

We got to the Grand Canyon after another hour of driving and hiked a little ways to get to the actual canyon.  Once it opened up among the trees, it was beautiful.  We were amazed at how beautiful it was; Drew mentioned that it looked like it was a giant painting.  The pictures just don’t do it justice.

IMG_9694
My Apple watch (and I) were pretty proud of all the steps I got in on the hike to the canyon. 
IMG_9730
Looking over the edge and seeing how far the drop was. (Look at that view, OMG!) 
IMG_0043
Had to get a picture with Drew to commemorate the journey, before we headed back to Phoenix.  
IMG_9703
Made Drew pull over so I could take a picture with a tee-pee; it felt like I was getting in touch with my ancestors! 

We hiked around and found some cool cliffs before hopping back in the car for another three hour return trip to Phoenix.  By the time we got back, it was almost 8 p.m. (10 p.m. TX time) and we were pretty tired, so we ate and went right to bed.

Saturday, we slept in and went exploring the city.  For lunch, we tried out this delicious restaurant called The Duce.  It was a cool old boxing gym-turned-open-air-restaurant in the heart of downtown.  Although we didn’t stay and play, I had a nice drink with lunch.  Both were amazing.

IMG_9733
The vodka-lemonade was perfect for the warm spring afternoon. 

We finally got ready and went to the wedding that evening.  I had so much fun seeing my big get married.  She means so much to me and it was great seeing her marry the man of her dreams; I was so happy to be able to witness that.

Big's reception
My big and I at her reception.

We had to wake up at like 4 a.m. on Sunday and head back to Texas, so we were bummed about coming back to reality after such an exuberant weekend.

Overall, the weekend was way too short; but I fell in love with all of the places we went during our trip.  I even told Drew I wouldn’t mind moving out there.  I am hoping that we get to go back at some point this summer for another long weekend to explore some more of this great state.

Leave a Reply

