Austin: A Few Favorites

Hi there! If you have been reading along, you have probably gathered that I spend quite a bit of time in Austin.  I am originally from Dallas, so it is a bit of a change for me.  Since I have started spending more time down here, I have somewhat fallen in love with this city. There is always something to do and lots to see (even at 2 a.m.).  If you are traveling down to Texas’ capital anytime soon, here are the places you need to see:

dsc_0017

Capital Building

The Capital building is probably one of the first things people think about when they come to Austin.  It is a huge building; in fact it is larger than our capital building in D.C. (Isn’t that crazy?!).  At night, the building is so bright that it can be seen from a couple of miles away.  I always enjoy a trip here.

img_8952

Austin Grafitti Park

This is one of the coolest attractions that I have found.  Located right in the heart of the city, the rundown structure has become a place where people can come express themselves artistically, with a can of spray paint of course. Drew and I enjoyed exploring this place a few weekends ago.  If you do come, wear good shoes, it is quite a hike if you wanna go up.

img_8161

Zilker Park

This is one of my favorite places to go in Austin.  We have been there a few times: for ACL Fest and also for the Trail of Lights.  I love coming out to Zilker, mostly for one of the best views of downtown; but also so I can see lots of dogs! This is one of the best places to take your dog in Austin.

img_8942

360 Lookout

This is one of the coolest places to go if you are looking to hike. The view is totally worth the 10 minute hike up.  I recommend going before sunset for the best scene.

img_5416

Jo’s Coffee

This wall is literally on the side of Jo’s Coffee, which owes its popularity to this wall.  Found on South Congress, this is definitely a must see spot if you are only in Austin for a short time… if you are lucky, you can find free parking in a nearby neighborhood.


I love lots of things about this city.  Exploring is always fun in Austin.  What are your favorite places? Let me know because I would love to visit them!

Leave a Reply

